Moving to Texas?
Are you moving to Texas or just moving from one city in Texas to another? There are several things you should know before you make the leap to the Lone Star State or any of its municipalities.
Get a great mover The difference between all of your stuff making it to your destination safe and sound and all in one piece can be the difference of which mover you hire. Whether you are searching for Dallas moving companies or Ft Worth movers, there is likely to be someone available to get you and your stuff where you need to go. Choosing the right movers for the job is crucial too. If you have a fairly small moving job, you can search for Dallas Same Day Movers to find the right crew for your task.
Update your car registration and driver’s license Every state has a different time limit that you need to update your driver’s license and car registration to be considered a resident and to avoid fines. In Texas, that time limit is 30 days. You will have to pay sales tax-related fees required by the state’s Comptroller of Public Accounts, but it might be worth the fine if you don’t. Without an updated Texas license, you’ll be treated as an unlicensed driver and the first-time offense fine may be up to $200.
Know the value of your stuff The maximum liability changes depending on the mover and the state. In Texas, the maximum liability for a mover to cover damage or losses to your belongings is only $0.60 per pound. That means that any damage done to your belongings, unless you arrange a contract before your move for a higher limit of liability, is repaid based on how much the object that is damaged weighs. One way you can work around this is to purchase additional insurance to cover your more valuable, lighter belongings to protect them if they are damaged.
Moving can be a stressful experience but knowing some of the specifics about the place you are moving to, if it is Texas, can help reduce any headaches.